

SECOND DISTRICT

Members for Life

Jeffrey Galler, D.D.S.

Twenty-three members of the Second District Dental Society were honored at SDDS's annual Installation of Officers in January

These dentists achieved the milestone status of life membership in the ADA. Incoming President Stuart Segelnick said, "These individuals exemplify dedication to the ideals of the dental profession and commitment to organized dentistry.

"Collectively, this group has accumulated over 650 membership years with the Second District. They have donated countless hours of their time to this society and its membership, voluntarily serving on numerous SDDS committees and NYSDA or ADA councils. They are mentors to some. They have shared their experiences with many.

"They are teachers. They are colleagues. Most importantly, they are caregivers to the thousands of patients who have depended upon their professional training and skills as dentists."

SDDS's newest life members are: Joseph Abbadessa, Solomon Bursztyn, Ira Camhi, John Damiano, Lawrence Ferrari, John Finocchio, Mark Fishman, Michael Frank, Marvin Freeman, Jay Gerstein, David Goodman, Peter Guagliano, John Hoechster, James Ip, Avishai Karlovsky, Charles Kiley, Samuel Masyr, Alan Silverman, Paul Sum, Joseph Taitelbaum, Ronald Teichman, Richard Trushkowsky, and Paul Weseley.

Installation of Officers

The annual SDDS Installation of Officers and Awards Luncheon was held at The Water's Edge in Long Island City. The event featured the farewell address of 2010 President Deborah Pasquale, installation of newly elected SDDS officers, the inaugural address of 2011 President Stuart Segelnick, and presentation of life membership certificates and other special awards.

Present at the event were ADA President-Elect William Calnon and NYSDA President Robert Doherty. ADA Trustee Steven Gounardes served as the installing officer and swore in the new slate of SDDS officers.

Dr. Pasquale reviewed last year's accomplishments. Dr. Segelnick spoke of his plans for the coming year. He thanked those responsible for his involvement in organized dentistry.

At the same time, Dr. Segelnick added to his portfolio of significant honors, by receiving the NYSDA Bernard P. Tillis Award for outstanding writing in a society journal. It was presented by Dr. Doherty. New York State Assemblywoman Grace Meng presented him with a state proclamation commemorating the special day.

The afternoon's festivities culminated with the singing of an original SDDS anthem, composed by Dr. Segelnick.

Thank you, and Good Luck

Newly installed officers of SDDS for 2011 are, President Stuart L. Segelnick, President Elect Constantine G. Pavlakos, Vice President Amrish K. Parikh, Secretary Lauro F. Medrano-Saldana, Treasurer Philip Buccigrossi Ir., and Librarian-Curator Mitchell D. Mindlin.

Serving on the Board of Trustees are: Paul S. Albicocco, Gabriel D. Ariola, Scott B. Brustein, Michael L. Cali, Raymond Flagiello, Steven Gounardes, John R. Halikias, Ian M. Lerner, Howard I. A. Lieb, John McIntyre, Robert Oshrain, Deborah Pasquale, Craig Ratner, Reneida E. Reves, Sari R. Rosenwein, James J. Sconzo, Robert A. Seminara and Paul Weseley.

It's Constitutional

Any responsible organization makes sure it periodically reviews its bylaws and revises them as needed. In September 2010, a subcommittee was appointed and tasked with examining the current SDDS Constitution and Bylaws and proposing any changes or modifications deemed necessary.

This committee was formed to achieve the following: to update the Bylaws and make sure that provisions remain current; to bring the Bylaws into alignment with recent major changes in the NYSDA Bylaws and governance structure; to update outdated concepts and policies; and to help the SDDS run with greater efficiency and costconsciousness.

The subcommittee presented its proposed revision to the Constitution and Bylaws Committee, which unanimously endorsed the recommendations. The full

